President Buhari Directs Immediate Support To 12 Flood Affected States

President Buhari Directs Immediate Support To 12 Flood Affected States

- in News
President Muhammadu Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari has authorised the dispatch of special teams to deliver urgently needed assistance to 12 states most ravaged by the seasonal rains.

The Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media & Publicity, Garba Shehu in a statement released on Saturday said the President took the decision after accessing the flood situation in some parts of the country adding that reinforcement of reliefs and other equipment are to be conveyed through the National Emergency Management Agency, NEMA.

He listed the benefitting states to include; Kebbi,Niger,Kwara, Kogi, Edo, Anambra, Delta, Kano, Jigawa, Rivers, Bayelsa and Adamawa.

READ ALSO : Oyo To Work With NEMA To Tackle Flooding

He also listed some states that have been reached with the first wave of support from the Presidency to include: Kebbi, Niger, Kwara, Sokoto, Jigawa and Kaduna.

The statement read in part, “President Buhari once again expressed the nation’s sympathy to the victims of the floods, many of whom had lost family members, homes and valued investments in agricultural crops and livestock.”

“The President underscored the need for additional coordination between the federal and state government agencies dealing with the issues, and for improved forecast and warning systems to avert similar calamities.”

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like

Again, President Buhari Appeals For Peace

President Muhamadu Buhari has appealed to Nigerians to