The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, has constituted a special committee to screen the newly-appointed Service Chiefs by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The members of the committee include chairmen of four standing security committees of the House, their deputies and three other members from each of the committees.

The committees are the Committee on Defence; Committee on Army; Committee on Navy; and Committee on Air Force.

The special committee will be chaired by the Chairman, Committee on Defence, Babajimi Benson (APC, Lagos).

Gbajabiamila explained that the idea of the special committee was to avoid overcrowding in view of the health challenges posed by the raging COVID-19 pandemic.

The Speaker announced the membership of the committee moments after he read to members a letter from the President seeking the confirmation of the appointments of the service chiefs by the legislature.