The Kwara State Government says the 10 grant-aided schools in Ilorin that was shut over hijab crises are to remain shut pending announcement on government’s position on the use of the Muslim head covering (hijab) in the schools.
Recalled that following agitation over wearing of Hijab by Muslim female students, who are attending public schools owned by people of another faith,Government shut down 10 secondary schools on Feb 18th pending resolution of the hijaab crisis in the schools.

The affected schools which are all located in Ilorin are : C&S College Sabo Oke, St. Anthony College, Offa Road, ECWA School, Oja Iya, Surulere Baptist Secondary School, Bishop Smith Secondary School, Agba Dam, CAC Secondary School Asa Dam road, St. Barnabas Secondary School Sabo Oke, St. John School Maraba, St. Williams Secondary School Taiwo Isale, and St. James Secondary School Maraba.

However in a statement on Monday by the Secretary to the State Government, Prof. Mamma Saba Jibril maintained that the schools should remain closed to avert any breakdown of law and order while the government concludes consultations with relevant stakeholders.

Jibril urged members of the public to remain calm and peaceful adding that “Official pronouncement of government’s position is likely this week,”
“The government urges parents, officials and authorities at the affected schools to maintain peace and avoid making comments or doing anything that could cause further misunderstanding and heat up the polity.”

It will be recalled that Government on Thursday after a Marathon meeting set up an Independent Committee to recommend solutions to resolve the agitation for wearing of Hijab by Muslim female students, who are attending public schools owned by people of another faith.

‌The Committee chaired by the Deputy Governor, Mr Kayode Alabi, has its members to include two thought leaders/statesmen from the two sides; three religious leaders from the two sides; Senator Suleiman Ajadi; Prince Sunday Fagbemi; Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Justice; Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Education; Special Assistants to the Governor on Religion (Islam and Christianity); and the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor.