The newly appointed service chiefs will on Wednesday be screened by the members of the House of Representatives.

This was made known by the Chairman of the House Committee on Defence, Babajimi Benson on Monday.

He said the service chiefs would be screened behind closed doors for security reasons.

The newly appointed service chiefs are Maj. Gen. Lucky Eluonye Onyenuchea lrabor – Chief of Defence Staff; Maj. Gen. Ibrahim Attahiru – Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo – Chief of Naval Staff; and Air Vice Marshal Isiaka O. Amao – Chief of Air staff.

Speaker of the House, Femi Gbajabiamila, had last Wednesday read a letter from President Muhammadu Buhari seeking the confirmation of the new service chiefs.

Buhari’s letter was dated January 27, 2021, while the stamp on the acknowledgement copy indicated that it was received on February 5, 2021.

Gbajabiamila later constituted a panel made up of Chairmen, Deputy Chairmen and some members of the military-related standing committees, to be led by Chairman of the House Committee on Defence, Mr Babajimi Benson.